Electrician: Dakotas and Western Minnesota

Electrical Apprenticeship Programs:
St. Paul
Iron Range
South Central Minnesota
Statewide Limited Energy Program

Job description

boilermaker Includes the installation, operation, maintenance and repair of all electrical wiring and electrical equipment used in construction; the alteration and repair of buildings, structures, bridges, street and highway work, tunnels, etc.




Apprenticeship program

Program is a five (5) year program that includes 8,000 hours of on-the-job training and 180 hours per year of related instruction.

Applications are accepted year round and interviews are held once or twice a year in each local


  • Must be 18 years of age or older.
  • Must be a high school graduate or have a Certificate of Equivalency (GED).
  • Must have completed a full year of high school algebra or one post high school algebra course.
  • Must provide copy of birth certificate
  • Must provide official high school transcripts.
  • Must have a qualifying score on the NJATC electrical aptitude test (to be arranged by

Selection procedures

After taking the required apptitude test, applicant will go through an oral interview procedure with the Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee (J.A.T.C.) . If selected into the program, there will be a probationary period within the first 2,000 hours of on-the-job training. A drug test will be required before applicant is indentured.

More Information

Tools Needed

Electrician's knife, pencil, six foot rule, cutting pliers, combination pliers, screwdrivers, hammers, wrenches, I reamers, extensions, chisels, etc.

Transportation Requirements

Worker must provide own transportation and maintain drivers' license.


Eight (8) hours daily from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.


Starts at 50% of a journeyworker's wage, with a 5% increase approximately every six months

Union Dues

Union dues and entrance fee may be different with each local. Please check with Business Agents.

Geographical areas covered:

States of North Dakota, South Dakota, with the exception of the southern halves of Yankton, Clay and Union counties; and the following counties of Minnesota: Kittson, Roseau, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk, Norman, Mahnomen, Clay, Becker, Wilkin, Ottertail, Grant, Douglas, Pipestone, Murray, Rock, Nobles and Traverse.

Contact Us

Dakotas and Western Minnesota (Moorhead)
Areawide JATC
2201 N. University Dr.
Fargo, ND 58102
(701) 297-5934
(800) 247-1284

Robert Wolf

IBEW #1426
Fargo/Moorhead/Grand Forks

IBEW #426
Sioux Falls

IBEW #714 Bismarck/Minot/Williston

IBEW #1250
Rapid City